lunedì 8 marzo 2010

Section 25 - Charnel Ground / Haunted 7'' 1980

Section 25 were formed in Blackpool, Lancashire in November 1977.

Initially they were a duo, consisting of brothers Larry Cassidy (bass, vocals) and Vincent Cassidy (drums). In June 1978 they made their live debut, and in November were joined by guitarist Paul Wiggin.
Their debut 7", "Girls Don't Count", was released in July 1980 on Factory Records, produced by Ian Curtis and Rob Gretton of Joy Division. All Section 25 releases would be released through either Factory Records (until the demise of that label), or the subsidiary label Factory Benelux . Their debut LP, Always Now, was released in 1981 and produced by Martin Hannett. It was rumoured to have been housed in the most expensive and elaborate sleeve in the label's history (designed by Peter Saville) utilising an exclusive 'marble' effect design printed on the inner jacket and a fold-out cover that resembled a match-book similar to the cover used by Cabaret Voltaire for their "2x45" lp.

The three-piece group played many gigs in Britain and Northern Europe between 1979 and 1981, both as a headline act and with other Factory Records artists, such as Joy Division, A Certain Ratio, Blurt, The Durutti Column, Crispy Ambulance and New Order. The group also released a self-produced second album, The Key of Dreams. However the original line-up split in 1982 when Paul Wiggin declined to fly to the US for their first North American tour.

Ciao Larry, we will always love you!

A Charnel Ground
B Haunted

Factory Benelux, Les Disques Du Crépuscule fac bn 3-006, fac bn 3-006


Nessun commento: